- Top News
- Trail Maps
(Courtesy/Minnesota Historical Society)
Shipwrecks from a mighty 1905 November gale prompted this rugged landmark’s construction. Completed by the U.S. Lighthouse Service in 1910, Split Rock Light Station was soon one of Minnesota’s best known landmarks. Restored to its 1920s appearance, the lighthouse offers a glimpse of lighthouse life in this remote and spectacular setting. For more information, visit the Split Rock Lighthouse Webpage.
“Every year on November 10, the navigational beacon, decommissioned in 1969, is lit in memory of the 29 men lost aboard the Edmund Fitzgerald and all the other vessels lost on the Great Lakes.
This event offers the only time during the year that visitors can see the interior of the light tower when the beacon is lit. It is a great time both to learn about the operation of the light and to take advantage of a rare photo opportunity.” -Minnesota Historical Society
-Exhibits and Film
-Tours (Lighthouse, fog signal building, oil house, keepers restored home).